Graduate Fellowship Program School Partners

Graduate School Partners

Rangel Fellows can use their fellowships to attend any graduate program at a U.S. university that is approved by the Rangel Program. Rangel Fellows currently attend graduate programs around the country. However, there are a number of graduate programs that have agreed in advance to provide financial assistance, in addition to the $21,500 for tuition and $16,000 for a stipend that the Rangel Program awards each year. Because the universities themselves provide these benefits, students should work directly with the key contact points at each university to confirm all aspects of this assistance. The universities recommend that you include the fact that you are applying for the Rangel Fellowship in your application. Rangel Fellows are not limited to attending these programs, and other universities provide assistance to Rangel Fellows on a case-by-case basis.

Potential applicants can request a list of the universities and their offers by e-mailing the Rangel Program at rangelprogram@howard.edu.

These university partners are:

  • American University, School of International Service
    Contact: Rebecca Coughlin, Assistant Director of Graduate Admissions and Director of Diversity and Inclusion Initiatives, 202-885-1599, coughlin@american.edu
  • American University, School of Public Affairs
    Contact: Jennifer Forney, Assistant Dean of Graduate Enrollment, forney@american.edu, 202-885-6248
  • Boston University, Fredrick S. Pardee School of Global Studies
    Contact: Holly Chase, Manager of Graduate Programs, 617-358-8625, hlchase@bu.edu
  • Carnegie Mellon University, The School of Public Policy and Management at H. John Heinz III College
    Contact: David Eber, Director of Admissions and Financial Aid, deber@cmu.edu, 412-268-3347
  • Cornell University, Cornell Institute for Public Affairs (CIPA)
    Contact:  Thomas O’Toole, Executive Director, 607-255-6668, tjo22@cornell.edu
  • Columbia University, School of International and Public Affairs
    Contact: Grace Han, Director for Admissions, SIPA, gh2122@columbia.edu
  • Duke University, Center for International Development Master of International Development Policy
    Contact: Cheryl Bailey, Program Coordinator, Admissions, Cheryl.bailey@duke.edu, 919-613-9281
  • Duke University, Sanford School of Public Policy
    Contact: Jessica Pan, Director of Admissions and Financial, Jessica.Pan@Duke.edu
  • Florida International University, School of International and Public Affairs
    Contact:  Malena Torres, maltorre@fiu.edu
  • Georgetown University, Edmund A. Walsh School of Foreign Service, Master of Science in Foreign Service (MSFS)
    Contact: Erin Guild, Associate Director of MSFS Program, msfsinfo@georgetown.edu
  • Georgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service, Master of Arts in Security Studies (SSP)
    Contact: Jessica Gershuny, Director for Admissions, securitystudies@georgetown.edu
  • Georgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service, BMW Center for German and European Studies (CGES)
    Contact: Zoe Ziliak Michel, Supervisor of Academic Programs, zoe.michel@georgetown.edu
  • Georgetown University, Walsh School of Foreign Service, Master of Global Human Development
    Contact: Katie Li, Associate Director of Academic Programs, GHD, ghdinfo@georgetown.edu
  • Georgetown University, McCourt School of Public Policy
    Contact: Lindsey Monson, Assistant Director of Admissions, lgm28@georgetown.edu
  • Harvard University, John F. Kennedy School of Government
    Contact:  Stephanie Streletz, Director of HKS Financial Services, 617-496-9078, stephanie_streletz@hks.harvard.edu
  • Indiana University – Bloomington, School of Public and Environmental Affairs
    Contact: Megan Siehl, Director of Graduate Student Services, msiehl@indiana.edu, 812-855-2840
  • Johns Hopkins University, Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies
    Contact: Karen Ohen, Director of Admissions, admissions.sais@jhu.edu
  • Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey 
    Contact: Jill Stoffers, Senior Director of Institutional Partnerships, 831-647-6571, Jill.stoffers@miis.edu
  • Pennsylvania State University, School of International Affairs
    Contact: Christie Persio, Director of Admissions, admissions@sia.psu.edu
  • Pepperdine University, The School of Public Policy
    Contact: Carson J.F. Bruno, Assistant Dean for Admission and Program Relations, carson.bruno@pepperdine.edu, 310-506-7493
  • Princeton University, Woodrow Wilson School
    Contact: Sonya Smith, Director of Graduate Admissions, sonyas@princeton.edu 
  • Rutgers University, Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy
    Contact: Lynn Astorga, Assistant Director for Student Recruitment, LAstorga@Rutgers.edu, 848-932-2388
  • Syracuse University, Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs
    Contact: Christine M. Omolino, Associate Director, Department of Public Administration, comolino@maxwell.syr.edu
  • Texas A&M University, Bush School of Government & Public Service
    Contact: Bush School Admissions, Kathryn Meyer or Stacy Hayes, bushschoolapplications@tamu.edu, 979-862-3476
  • The George Washington University, Elliott School of International Affairs
    Contact: Nicole Campbell, Director of Graduate Admissions, esiagrad@gwu.edu, 202-994-7050
  • The New School, The Milano School of International Affairs, Management and Urban Policy
    Contact: Merida Escandon, Director of Admission, 212-229-5150, escandom@newschool.edu
  • Tufts University, The Fletcher School
    Contact: Laurie Hurley, Director for Admissions and Financial Aid, laurie.hurley@tufts.edu
  • University of California – Berkeley, Richard & Rhoda Goldman School of Public Policy
    Contact: Lezley Hightower, Student Services Advisor, lhightower@berkeley.edu
  • University of California – Berkeley, Master of Development Practice
    Contact:  Laura M. Krupa, Student Services Advisor, 510-642-1462, lkrupa@berkeley.edu
  • University of California – San Diego, School of Global Policy and Strategy
    Contact: Sonja Steinbrech, Director of Recruitment and Admissions, sonja@ucsd.edu
  • University of Denver, Josef Korbel Graduate School of International Studies
    Contact: Robert MacDonald, Executive Director of Enrollment, Robert.MacDonald@du.edu
  • University of Michigan, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
    Contact: Beth Soboloski, Director of Admissions, bsobo@umich.edu
  • University of Minnesota, Humphrey School of Public Affairs
    Contact:  Dan Cheng, Director of Admissions, chen0609@umn.edu, 612-626-7229
  • University of Southern California, Annenberg School for Communication and Journalism
    Contact: Allyson Hill, Associate Dean of Admissions, allysonh@usc.edu, 213-821-0766
  • University of Texas at Austin, Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs
    Contact: Shannon Chapman, Director of the Office of Student Affairs & Admissions,LBJOSAADir@austin.utexas.edu
  • University of Virginia, Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy
    Contact: Jeff Chidester, Director of Outreach and Engagement jchidester@virginia.edu, 434-924-7330
  • University of Washington, Daniel J. Evans School of Public Policy and Governance
    Contact: Barry Wall, Director of Admissions, barry77@uw.edu